The Betsy

CD | Price: £ 15.95 | XPD 177

The World Premiere Recording of the Complete Score to THE BETSY Composed by JOHN BARRY A Special Collectors Edition featuring one of the finest Film Scores from the Composer of OUT OF AFRICA * THE LION IN WINTER * MARY QUEEN OF SCOTS * ZULU * BORN FREE * GOLDFINGER * YOU ONLY LIVE TWICE and DANCES WITH WOLVES

  • The Complete Dramatic Score from the 1978 film set in Africa starring LAURENCE OLIVIER, ROBERT DUVALL, KATHERINE ROSS, TOMMY LEE JONES, JANE ALEXANDER and LESLEY ANNE DOWN
  • Newly Recorded in Stunning and Dynamic Digital Sound
  • Performed by the Acclaimed and Award-Winning 75-piece City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, Conducted by Nic Raine
  • Produced by James Fitzpatrick for Prometheus Records
  • New Score & Orchestration Reconstructed by Nic Raine ….who was principal orchestrator to John Barry on numerous films and albums
  • Informative Sleeve Notes by Frank K. DeWald
  • One of John Barry’s most romantic and heartfelt scores

After recording Mister Moses, an early score from John Barry, in the same series of sessions we tackled a more mature offering from the composer, The Betsy. This is very much Barry in his more subdued and romantic mode … although there are a few touches of his “Bond” style in the more violent passages. Romance is certainly to the fore in his beautiful main theme – a waltz which, in its many variations and repetitions, displays Barry’s elegance, sophistication and assured dramatic instinct. But it is the subtle scoring of scenes of incest and sexual intent that shows the composer at his most sensitive – especially the tortured solos for violin and cello, played here with so much feeling by Lucie Svehlova and Marek Elznic. After the rhythmic intensity of the earlier score it was quite a leap for the musicians to be expressive while also displaying the great restraint the music demanded.

Recording Produced by James Fitzpatrick for Prometheus Records
Executive Producer: Luc Van de Ven


  1. The Betsy Main Title 2:32
  2. Crash / To the Mansion 2:19
  3. He and She / Call it Betsy / It’s the Car 5:17
  4. Multi Image 1:27
  5. Angelo’s Theme 3:01
  6. Win One / You Always Know 3:17
  7. Bobby Visits / Back on Payroll 2:47
  8. Grandfather / It’s All in the Family / Working on Betsy 5:22
  9. What Took You So Long? / A Toast 4:05
  10. Blackmail / What Happened? / Loren’s Suicide 4:03
  11. In Bed 2:32
  12. Angelo Beaten / Warren’s Murder 3:02
  13. What Took You So Long? 1:03
  14. Samson Gets It / Angelo Takes Over 3:29
  15. The Betsy End Credits 2:12

TT: 46:53

Catalogue Number: XPCD 177
Release Date: NOVEMBER 25th, 2014
For More Information and Mail-Order Enquiries Please Contact:

Related Videos: